Class and Sass

TRI Again

In FIT on April 6, 2011 at 1:13 pm

Happy Wednesday!

Since Sasi Living is all about fitness, fun and fashion, I felt that it was necessary to share my latest fitness endeavor. Last Memorial Day I completed the Capital of Texas Triathlon. It was my very first tri and honestly, not the best experience, but not the worst either. That being said, I wanted to give it another go. So, this May I will be participating in the Galena Triathlon.

I’m currently training (or trying at least, I’m actually sick right now) and loving it. The training plan is actually what got me motivated to do another one in the first place. I love the challenge of training plans and I also love the variety. At the beginning of January I decided I needed to freshen up my workouts. So, for fun, weird I know, I started a tri training plan, without any plans to do another tri. After keeping up with the training for a month, I decided I should just take the plunge and sign up!

Last year’s tri was challenging because I honestly had no idea what to expect. I did the tri through Team In Training and if it weren’t for my amazing coaches I don’t think I would have made it. Not to mention the panic attack I had during the swim–not cool. This year should be different for a few reasons. First, it’s a shorter distance. Last year’s was Olympic distance, this year isn’t a traditional sprint distance, but is shorter than Olympic distance. (660 yard swim, 17.4 mi bike, 4.3 mi run)

Also, I’m really hoping that this year I can leverage my experience from last year to carry me through. There really should be no excuse for the same jitters as last year since I know what to expect. Additionally, this year I’m so much more excited than I was last year so that should help a lot!

To see my training plan you can check out this link. I have modified it a little bit, specifically adding BRICK workouts (bike-run workouts) during the weekend and not doing bike mileage over 25 miles.  So far so good, but we’ll see how I fare after I’m done battling this cold.

Leave a Reply

