Class and Sass

Easy As (a sugar cream) Pie!

In Recipes on January 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm

Happy Wednesday!

Yesterday while chatting with some co-workers, I learned that there was such a thing as a “sugar cream pie.” What?! I couldn’t resist looking up something that sounded so delicious. To my surprise, this actually seemed like a pie I could make. So, without further ado, I made my first pie last night!

While I highly doubt the nutritional value of this pie, each slice is a little piece of heaven, so I encourage everyone to give it a try and enjoy in moderation. One of the best things is that this pie is SO easy to make, and you probably already have the ingredients. I followed this recipe, and decided to buy a graham cracker crust instead. (I’d highly recommend a graham crust)

The main ingredients are white and brown sugar, flour, heavy cream and a little Vanilla extract. That’s it! The prep time was even sweeter. I went from nothing to pie in about 10 minutes, but I’m sure an experienced baker could do this in about 5. The cook time was only 40 minutes.  However, you do have to let the pie cool and then refrigerate before indulging, so the overall time is longer, about 3 hours.

How does it taste? AMAZING! Seriously, this pie is to die for. The texture is just like creme-brulee, but the flavor is more like vanilla toffee. It’s hard to really put into words, but trust me, I don’t think you, or your sugar pie honey bunch, will be disappointed. 😉

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

