Class and Sass

Reach Your PEAK–the PEAK 8 workout

In FIT on January 24, 2011 at 2:46 pm

Happy Monday!

Last week I was reading about the benefits of the PEAK 8 workout in the Chiropractor’s office. Since I’m always desperate for a new workout to help curb the monotony of the “dread-mill” I decided to give it a whirl.

Here’s how the PEAK workout runs (like my pun?)

  • Warm up for 3 minutes. (I walked at 4.0 on an incline of 7)
  • Run as fast as you can for 30 seconds (I ran at a 9.0)
  • Recover for 90 seconds. (I walked at 4.0 on an incline of 6)
  • Repeat Run/Recover 8 times
  • Cool down for the remaining 3 minutes (I walked at 4.0 at an incline of 5)

Honestly, it was easier than I expected, but mostly just because I had built it up to be complete torture in my head. It did however, get challenging near the end and I found myself counting every second.

The benefits of the PEAK workout are worth the pain though. If you do this short workout at least twice a week you can dramatically decrease your body fat. More than that, you will burn a high number of calories in a short workout. (Bonus!) The PEAK workout will also help you improve your muscle tone, speed and overall performance.

Don’t worry if you can’t do all 8 reps right away, this workout allows you to build up to the PEAK. You can also lengthen your warm-up and cool down times.

And, the absolute best part is that the total running time of this workout is only 4 minutes! (Of course, if you’re nuts, can you jog during your recovery periods.)

For more info you can check out the PEAK 8 Facebook page. Give it a try and let me know what you think. I’m a fan!

Leave a Reply

