Class and Sass

Holiday Cheer!

In Holidays on December 13, 2010 at 2:09 pm

Greetings! Can you believe we are only a few weeks away from Christmas?? I can’t either. I spent the entire weekend trying to transform my apartment into a Christmas cabin, and with the decorations finally up, I guess I have to tackle all the cleaning and organizing next….

In the meantime, I wanted to share some quick, cheap and sasi holiday decor tips for you. Do you have a favorite trick? Let me know or leave a comment.

1. Pick a theme or color scheme. This will save you so much time while shopping and planning how to decorate. I hate when my house looks the exact same every year so I enjoy changing things up a bit. This year, everything is red and gold. Not sure? Try picking a theme like traditional, modern, fairy tale etc. The possibilities are endless, use your imagination!

2. Get inspired! Flip through all those holiday catalogs you just can’t ignore and steal any idea you can think of! One of my favorite tricks is to use garland everywhere! I put it across every shelf I have, along the back of my buffet and on my entry-way table. It warms everything up so much and helps carry out your theme without a lot of fuss.

3. Shop Cheap! Don’t be ashamed if you buy all your decor on sale, that just means you have a bigger budget for presents! Check out local places like Hobby Lobby and JoAnn for great steals on holiday ornaments, garland, party supplies and craft ideas.

Check back later to see how my decorating turned out this year. I’d post now, but I forgot my camera cord 😦

  1. […] The tradition of decorating a Christmas tree began in Germany when people decorated Evergreen Fir’s inside their homes. Tree decor included roses, apples and colored paper. (Maybe a hint for next year’s tree theme??) […]

Leave a Reply

