Class and Sass

Casual Luxury

In FASHION, FUN on November 4, 2010 at 2:43 pm

It’s been a while since we’ve talked about style, and today’s chilly weather brought out the best in me. When forced to categorize my style, I think I’m best described as casually luxurious. Why? Well, I love to be comfortable, not overdone and cozy. But, I do love rich materials and textures, so I’m casual and luxurious all wrapped up under one cashmere cardigan.

Here’s how you can get the look with just a few staple pieces.

1. Buy a great pair of designer jeans. Seriously, it took me a while to break down and start spending $150+ on jeans, but it’s worth it if you make the right choices. Buy a pair with a dark wash and that aren’t too trendy or embellished. Also, think about the branding, I prefer more understated jeans, like Joe’s or Seven’s without in your face pockets. Petite or short like me but still want to wear these?? No problem, try shopping at Nordstrom Rack or Off 5th for great deals and alterations on site!

2. Think about QUALITY, not quantity. Yes, you could probably go to Old Navy right now and stock up on sweaters, blouses and other winter essentials, but guess what? Next year, you’re going to have to do the same thing! Instead, spend a little more for better quality. I suggest buying fabrics that last, like cashmere, silk and cotton blends. Most importantly, take good care of your clothes! This will help them last longer and keep them looking fresh.

3. Be Classy and Sasi! My personal life motto–keep it simple and jazz things up with fun accessories and pops of color. This makes your wardrobe much more versatile and long-lasting.

4. Splurge on shoes!! Can’t find what you’re looking for? Check out SasiShoes for some great tips.

5. Be comfortable in who you are and what you’re wearing. Probably the most important tip. If you feel fat in your pants or frumpy in your top, you won’t look your best to other people. Wear what is comfortable and fits correctly. Please always think of your surroundings and dress accordingly.

Here are some of my must-have items to stay casual and cozy this winter. Not quite your style? Tell me what is!

Starting at the top:

 

 

Leave a Reply

