Class and Sass

Ladies–Listen Up!

In Uncategorized on October 26, 2010 at 1:51 pm

We have a serious problem on our hands and we need help. For months, I have been disgusted by the rudeness exhibited by other women, to other women. Yes, we are all smart and talented in our own rights, but that is NO excuse to be mean to a complete stranger. Maybe it’s because I live in Lincoln Park, surrounded by women who all think they are the “best of the best” but let me tell you something, I don’t care how great you think you are, I am too, and you are doing yourself a dis-service by making flash judgments of me and treating me as if I am below you.

No, this is not a pity party and I, of course, am not a pillar of perfection. However, I do take pride in the fact that I try to treat strangers with respect. I look sales people in the eye, thank people for their help and try to be friendly. Yes, I have bad days, but it’s important to remind myself that my day is not a stranger’s fault and it should not become their problem. If I choose to go shopping in my work out clothes, that does not mean that I am some worthless person who you can bump into, look up and down and totally ignore. Guess what? My feelings are the same as yours, and I can bet you any money, you would be so upset if I treated you the way you treat me.

So, what can we do? I am asking all women to simply BE NICE. Try not to judge someone based on their appearance or the labels they may or may not be wearing. Instead, just take people as they are and forget about it. We aren’t all going to be best friends, but if we put up a good front, we can create a change. Think of all the great accomplishments of women and how strong we can be when we put our minds to something–channel that into your every day life and put a smile on your face. Here’s the trick–mean it! Be genuinely nice and see the positive energy that starts to come your way.

If you’re not convinced yet, take a look at this amazing article. If you want to be “turned-on”, start by turning yourself on. I promise, you will see immediate results and start to feel happier about your mundane routine. πŸ™‚

  1. Here here! So much hate, and why? That Maura Kelly or whatever her name is must really hate herself to be able to hate on others so easily. I used to weigh 270 pounds. I know what it’s like to suffer at the hands of small-minded people. Many of the people I dearly love are morbidly obese. It really pains me to see them (and myself) the subject of so much discrimination.

  2. Great remarks. I don’t know why people think they are somehow “better”….

Leave a Reply

