Class and Sass

Kitchen Refresh Project

In FUN on October 19, 2010 at 3:10 pm

Hi there!

After living in my condo for 4 years, it was time to refresh my kitchen.  The kitchen that once had me drooling was suddenly dull and boring, leaving me annoyed every time I was in there (which isn’t really too often as I’m not a chef). But, my cooking skills aside, I love having making a nice space even nicer. Let’s see just how far $100 can get you in a kitchen.

Here are the before pics–truly, I loved this kitchen when I first saw this place.

Like I said, great kitchen for me. But, I decided it was just getting a little too cold in there, and wanted to warm things up. Enter–Home Depot! I did some scouring online and decided I could easily make some changes without spending a lot of money. At the end of the day, this isn’t my permanent home and there’s really no need to go all-out on a new kitchen.

Here’s what I did: I bought a nice brown and cream rug at Costco ($6!) and then decided to paint the remaining two white walls a chocolate brown color. (Not really in the pics because those walls aren’t easily captured, sorry!) Here’s a trick for you–see just how far you can get using those small paint samples. I painted two 10 foot high walls with only 2 of those little guys, making the total cost for paint $7. Crazy right?

Then, I really wanted to get new cabinet hardware. I originally thought I would stay with the silver scheme, until I fell in love with these black and copper handles. I had a feeling that would really change the entire kitchen and I was right! Once I tried them on the cabinets it was a total transformation. The total cost of the new drawer and cabinet hardware was $73. Thanks Home Depot! Changing out the hardware was a cinch, although I did need to make new holes in the drawers, but it wasn’t a big deal.

So, after just two days, the entire kitchen was refreshed. I say refreshed, even though it was technically warmed up–regardless, I love the new look. What do you think?

So, if you’re feeling like your kitchen is a tad dull, sometimes all you need is a little pick-me-up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

